The Watchers

The Watchers

Wednesday, 23 November 2016

Awards Season 2017: Film Independent Spirit Awards Nominations

So here we go, Awards Season 2017 is off with yesterday's announcement of the 32nd Film Independent Spirit Awards nominations. As you will probably know by now, these awards recognise films made wholly or partly outside the traditional studio system. 

Below is a selection of nominations:

Best Feature
American Honey
Manchester By The Sea

Best Director
Andrea Arnold (American Honey)
Barry Jenkins (Moonlight)
Pablo Larrain (Jackie)
Jeff Nichols (Loving)
Kelly Reichardt (Certain Women)

Best Male Lead
Casey Affleck (Manchester By The Sea)
David Harewood (Free In Deed)
Viggo Mortensen (Captain Fantastic)
Jesse Plemons (Other People)
Tim Roth (Chronic)

Best Female Lead
Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Sasha Lane (American Honey)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)

Best Supporting Male
Ralph Fiennes (A Bigger Splash)
Ben Foster (Hell Or High Water)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester By The Sea)
Shia LaBeouf (American Honey)
Craig Robinson (Morris From America)

Best Supporting Female
Edwina Findley Dickerson (Free In Deed)
Paulina Garcia (Little Men)
Lily Gladstone (Certain Women)
Riley Keough (American Honey)
Molly Shannon (Other People)

A full list of nominees can be found here.

Moonlight and American Honey are joint leaders with six nominations each, whilst Manchester By The Sea has five.  

The next major announcement for awards season should be on 1st December with the Critics' Choice movie award nominations.


No comments:

Post a Comment