The Watchers

The Watchers

Friday, 12 January 2018

Awards Season 2018: Critics' Choice Movie Award Winners and Directors' Guild Awards (DGA) Nominations

There's a double dose of awards season goodness for you today, so let's get on with it!

* * *


Last night (11th January), the Critics' Choice Awards were handed out. Here's a full list of film winners:

Best Picture: The Shape Of Water

Best Actor: Gary Oldman (Darkest Hour)

Best Actress: Frances McDormand (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)

Best Supporting Actress: Allison Janney (I, Tonya)

Best Acting Ensemble: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro (The Shape Of Water)

Best Animated Feature: Coco

Best Original Screenplay: Get Out

Best Adapted Screenplay: Call Me By Your Name

Best Comedy: The Big Sick

Best Actor In A Comedy: James Franco (The Disaster Artist)

Best Actress In A Comedy: Margot Robbie (I, Tonya)

Best Action Movie: Wonder Woman

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Movie: Get Out

Best Foreign Language Film: In The Fade

Best Score: The Shape Of Water

Best Song: 'Remember Me' (Coco)

Best Production Design: The Shape Of Water

Best Editing: Baby Driver and Dunkirk (tie)

Best Costume Design: Phantom Thread

Best Hair & Makeup: Darkest Hour

Best Visual Effects: War For The Planet Of The Apes

Best Cinematography: Blade Runner 2049

Best Young Actor/Actress: Brooklynn Prince (The Florida Project)

The Shape Of Water was the biggest winner of the evening with four awards, whilst Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri got three. There's a definite pattern emerging with the major category winners...

* * *


Yesterday also saw the shortlist for this year's Directors' Guild Awards announced. Here are the nominees in the Feature Film category:

Guillermo del Toro (The Shape Of Water)
Greta Gerwig (Lady Bird)
Martin McDonagh (Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri)
Christopher Nolan (Dunkirk)
Jordan Peele (Get Out)

An interesting and diverse selection; this is Guillermo del Toro's first DGA nomination (and he's pretty much favourite to win). There's been a bit of surprise to Greta Gerwig and Jordan Peele's nominations- ahead of Steven Spielberg (The Post), Ridley Scott (All The Money In The World) or Luca Guadagnino (Call Me By Your Name)- but they've both had previous nominations in other awards bodies, so it's not as if they've come from nowhere. Interestingly, Greta Gerwig is the eighth woman to be nominated for the Feature Film award, whilst Jordan Peele is the fourth man of colour. However, this is the first year that a white American male director has not been nominated. 

The winners will be announced on 3rd February. 

There's now a week's respite from awards seasons stuff; we'll pick back up on 21st January with the Producers' Guild Awards (PGA) winners before a very busy few days leading up to the Oscar nominations on 23rd January. 

No comments:

Post a Comment